March 2024 Concert Recordings

March 3, 2024, 7:30 pm
Newmark Theatre

Raúl Gómez-Rojas, conductor

For “Rooted,” Symphony Orchestra is proud to present Pando, commissioned from composer and Oregon Symphony’s principal cellist Nancy Ives. This piece draws inspiration from its namesake Pando, the world’s largest tree. When Ives spoke with MYS musicians last season about themes they would like to see explored in the commission, the natural world and climate change stood out, kicking off the creation of Pando.

Program highlights include:

  • Pando by Nancy Ives
  • Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 (also known as the Pastoral Symphony)
  • World premiere of The Steadfast Tin Soldier by student composer Charlie Martin as part of The Authentic Voice student commissioning series
  • MYS Concerto Competition Strings Category Winner Ian Ko performing Cello Concerto, Mov 1 by Édouard Lalo

Giancarlo Castro D’Addona, conductor

  • Overture to The Magic Flute Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Overture to The Barber of Seville Gioachino Rossini