The Authentic Voice Series

In 2018, Metropolitan Youth Symphony launched The Authentic Voice series in partnership with fEARnoMUSIC’s Young Composers Project, in order to “teaching young musicians to use their artistry to empower others and create joy in the world,” (Raúl Gómez, Music Director). Performed within the context of riveting and thoughtfully designed concerts, these new works serve to more fully diversify programming by directly representing this young generation of artists which comprise the orchestra. The partnership gives young, Portland-area composers an opportunity to write for and hear their work performed primarily by Symphony Orchestra, while giving ensemble musicians a chance to play never performed music by their peers. 

Led by acclaimed composer Kenji Bunch, fEARnoMUSIC educates and trains the next generation of young composers by way of the Young Composers Project.  Established in 1997 to answer a call to encourage and cultivate musical curiosity and creativity in the next generation, YCP provides training and mentorship in music composition to students grades 6-12.  

About YCP

  • Provides students with the opportunity to experiment and develop a composition while having professional musicians at their disposal.
  • Develops a sense of community among young creative talents.
  • Provides students who wish to pursue professional careers with a firm foundation in the knowledge of orchestral instruments, and a portfolio of compositions.
  • Helps to reach the listening public with the works of young composers and help them develop an audience among that public.
  • Fear No Music provides workshops throughout the school year for YCP participants and presents the completed compositions to the public each spring.
  • Participating students have won numerous state, regional and national honors for their works. Past participants now pursue careers as composers of orchestra music, movie and television scores, musical theater works, folk music and many other forms of music.

MYS Authentic Voice Composers

November 11, 2018: Tone Poem No. 1, Orpheus and Eurydice by Jake Safirstein

March 3, 2019: Fugue for Orchestra by Max Ball           

May 21, 2019: Letter to Florence Price by Katie Palka

November 10, 2019: Hidden Voices by Matthew Kaminski       

March 8, 2020: Seereise by Grace Miedziak