November 2022 Concert Recordings

November 13, 2022, 7:30 pm
Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall

Raúl Gómez-Rojas, conductor

The MYS Symphony Orchestra featured Antonin Dvorak’s New World Symphony. This orchestral masterpiece, reflective of both Old and New World styles and themes, was created by Bohemian composer Antonín Dvořák while he lived in New York City in the early 1890s. As one of the first classical compositions to draw inspiration from New World music and lore, this piece was purportedly inspired by Dvorak’s reflections on American South spirituals and Native American traditions while incorporating stylistic elements of Old World sources.

Heading into its fifth year, The Authentic Voice commissioning series featured a collaborative Dance Suite by young composers Skye Neal, Amir Avsker, Aidan Bagby, Adrian Valenzuela, and Kate Andrews. In partnership with Fear No Music’s Young Composers Project, this program empowers young composers to write fully orchestrated symphonic compositions to be performed by MYS musicians.

Jeffrey Peyton, conductor

MYS was also proud to present its Concert Orchestra with Franz Schubert’s Rosamunde Overture, Gabriel Faure’s Pelléas et Mélisande, and My Neighbor Totoro for orchestra by Joe Hisaishi.