March 5, 2023 – Tales of Love and Justice with Jennifer Higdon – Full Concert

March 5, 2023, 7:30 pm
Newmark Theatre

Raúl Gómez-Rojas, conductor

Pulitzer Prize and three-time Grammy-winner Jennifer Higdon  joined MYS for an artistic residency and attended the March 5 concert, where MYS performed the West Coast premiere of Higdon’s Cold Mountain Suite. Winner of the International Opera Award for Best World Premiere in 2016, Cold Mountain debuted as an opera, telling the story of a Confederate soldier grappling with conflicts of violence, love, and redemption. The piece was co-commissioned by MYS through New Music for America in cooperation with The League of American Orchestras and a consortium of 15 professional orchestras.

Accompanying the Cold Mountain Suite are four selections from Margaret Allison Bonds’ The Montgomery Variations (Decision, March, Dawn in Dixie, and Benediction). Based on the African American Spiritual “I Want Jesus to Walk with Me” and edited by John Michael Cooper, these variations focus on the Montgomery Bus Boycotts, the 16th Street Baptist Church bombing, and resistance to segregationist policies in the Jim Crow era.

Audiences heard MYS students play the world premiere of a piece by student composer Margot Pullen as part of The Authentic Voice commissioning series. This project provides direct representation of young composers and conductors within the orchestra.

2023 Concerto Competition Strings category winner, Leo Trajano, performed Bruch Violin Concerto, Mov. 3.

Giancarlo Castro D’Addona, Conductor

  • Brandenburg Sinfonia Johann Sebastian Bach arr. Merle Isaac
  • Dance of the Hours Amilcare Ponchielli arr. Richard Meyer
  • Themes from Scheherazade Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov arr. Richard Meyer
  • Guantanamera Traditional Cuban Folk Victor Lopez

A link to stream the concert will be emailed to the purchasers email address used at checkout.

$ 15.00