MYS Fall Concert

Join us for our virtual Fall Concert celebration!

The MYS Fall Concert premiered on November 21 but is still possible to view by registering below. Once final video edits are complete, we will post the concert on MYS’ YouTube channel.

Additional Fall Concert Releases:

Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, performed by all MYS groups, creating a virtual orchestra of hundreds of young musicians, will premiere on the MYS YouTube channel on Thanksgiving and be available to view any time after the premiere.

The performances listed below will be released throughout the Holiday Season. Subscribe to our YouTube channel and click on the bell icon to receive notifications when the videos are released.

  • Alex Stopa – Desert Sunrise (MYSticks Percussion Ensemble)
  • William Grant Still – Danzas de Panamá
    • Tamborito (Vivaldi Strings)
    • Mejorana y Socavon (MYSfits)
    • Punto (MYSfits)
    • Cumbia y Congo (MYSfits)
  • Aaron Copland – Variations on a Shaker Melody (MYS Concert Orchestra)
  • Reinhold Glière – Russian Sailor’s Dance (from “The Red Poppy“) (MYS Concert Orchestra)
  • Pytor Tchaikovsky – Finale (Overture Strings)
  • Gioachino Rossini – William Tell Overture (Interlude Orchestra)
  • Ted Allen – Fire in the Forge (Baroque/Hillsboro Chamber Strings)
  • Johann Strauss – Tritsch Tratsch Polka (Sinfonietta Orchestra)

November 21st Program Description

MYS kicks off the season with a virtual celebration of music, theatre and art, featuring a cross-genre program that allows for unique collaboration between MYS ensembles on a digital platform. The online concert opens with Edvard Grieg’s lyrical Peer Gynt Suites No. 1 & 2 performed by seven MYS ensembles in a seamless flow that matches Henrik Ibsen’s original play, with added narration and visual art created by MYS students. The central portion of the concert features works by African American composers, including Florence Price’s joyful Dances in the CanebrakesDanzas de Panama by William Grant Still, Stacked by Allison Loggins-Hull and the MYS Jazz Ensemble’s performance of John Coltrane’s civil rights elegy “Alabama”.

How to view:

Our Fall Concert is free, and will stream on YouTube via a private link – simply register and select your ticket option and we will email you a link to the concert.